top of page
Image by Solen Feyissa

FOR WRITERS

HELPFUL ASSOCIATIONS for Picture Book Writers:

The Society of Children's and Bookwriters & Illustrators (SCBWI) https://www.scbwi.org

​​

Julie Hedlund's 12x12 Picture Book Challenge https://juliehedlund.vanillacommunity.com/

*Children's Book Insider https://cbiclubhouse.com/clubhouse/

*Some basic functions are free

 

Children's Book Authors and Illustrators: Publishing, Marketing and Selling (Facebook Group)  https://www.facebook.com/groups/187350425346975

Rate Your Story https://www.rateyourstory.org/

USEFUL TOOLS for Picture Book Writers:

*Query Tracker https://querytracker.net/ 


*Publisher's Marketplace https://www.publishersmarketplace.com/

​*Some basic functions are free

Manuscript Wish List https://www.manuscriptwishlist.com/about/


Merriam-Webster Dictionary https://www.merriam-webster.com/

Rhyming Dictionary https://wikirhymer.com/

Thesaurus https://www.thesaurus.com/

Word Association Lookup https://wordassociations.net/en

Automatic Readability Checker https://readabilityformulas.com/free-readability-formula-tests.php

Readability Calculator https://www.online-utility.org/english/readability_test_and_improve.jsp

Picture Book Templates https://debbieohi.com/resources/printready/printready-templates-book-creators/

Poetry and Critique Edits (including rhyming text) https://www.word-painting.com/critiquesediting-services

WRITING COURSES for Picture Book Writers:

StoryTeller Academy https://www.storytelleracademy.com/

The Children's Book Academy https://www.childrensbookacademy.com/

The Manuscript Academy https://manuscriptacademy.com/full-library-classes

Renee LaTulippe's Lyrical Language Lab https://www.reneelatulippe.com/writing-courses/

Susanna Leonard Hill's Making Picture Book Magic https://susannahill.com/for-writers/making-picture-book-magic/

Children's Book Hub https://emmawaltonhamilton.com/just-write-childrens-books

The Complete Picture Book Submissions System https://picturebooksubmissions.com/whats-in-the-system/

The Writing Barn https://www.thewritingbarn.com/upcoming-classes/

​The Art of Storytelling https://www.khanacademy.org/computing/pixar/storytelling#we-are-all-storytellers

Writing Blueprints Workshops https://writingblueprints.com/p/workshops 

UCLA Picture Book Writing Course https://www.uclaextension.edu/writing-journalism/creative-writing/course/picture-book-i-writing-x-4411

Alayne Kay Christian's The Art of the Arc http://www.alaynekaychristian.com/page05.html

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES for Picture Book Writers:

Christine Alemshah (resources for writer's page) https://christinealemshah.com/for-writers/

KidLit 411 http://www.kidlit411.com/​

Harold's Purple Crayon https://www.underdown.org/

Ask The Agent https://literaticat.tumblr.com/

Literary Rambles http://www.literaryrambles.com/

bottom of page